Right place, right time.

When it comes to capturing the right image, it can take some planning in advance. Research the best location, consult the weather forecast, decide on which time of the day would be best, arrange to take the proper equipment to the location etc. There is sometimes you find yourself in the right place at the right time, and with a single click you capture an image that would never have been possible no matter how prepared you had been in advance. How can we define this situation? As far as I’m concerned it is sheer and utter luck!

Let’s take a look at one of those moments I experienced at Morecambe Bay.

Morecambe, Morecambe Bay, landscape, seascape, rocks, lancashire,
Meandering water channel, Morecambe Bay.

I couldn’t believe my luck when I saw what I captured. Needless to say I took many more images whilst I was there while the weather conditions were like this. It was a fantastic experience, I wanted to capture everything I possibly could because it was only a matter of time before everything would change. This is the thrill of landscape photography. I had been at Morecambe bay earlier on in the day and the conditions were dull, and overcast, I’m so glad I stopped off again at Morecambe on the way back to Lancaster. It was a prime example of being in the right place at the right time.

What you see above is practically what I took, all I did was to heighten the colour ever so slightly and apply a little gradient to the top and the bottom of the image. That is it.

You cannot anticipate moments like this, so how can we be prepared for an other occasion like this? In truth we can’t. But we can be ready just in case. What I do is when I know that I am going out for the day, I try to make sure that I have my camera with me. Mostly I can’t carry it about with me all the time, but 9 times out of 10 it’s in its carry case in the car ready to go.

If you like this image you can visit my new 500px profile – https://500px.com/reclickphoto, where you can see the other images I took there. If you like them you can license them to use! You can do so at – https://prime.500px.com/reclickphoto.

If you would like to find out more about ReClick Photo and the services I provide, please visit my website at http://www.reclickphoto.co.uk.

Thanks for reading!
Hugh at ReClick Photo.

One thought on “Right place, right time.”

Leave a Reply

