Blackpool, Lancashire, England, seaside, staircase, architecture,

Behind the Photograph: Blackpool.

Sometimes when it comes to photography, clicking the button on your camera is just the start of a great image. In this edition of Behind the Photograph, I’m going to let you know what the process is behind getting a few of the images in my last post, Blackpool Do We Really Like To Be Beside The Seaside, ready to be shared with you.

The first image I will talk about is the the one featuring the seating located next to The North Pier. Let’s take a look at the image as it was captured:

Seating, Victorian, promenade, Blackpool, Lancashire, seaside, resort
Ornate seating located by the North Pier Blackpool as captured.

As you can see, the sun was hiding when I took this photo. It was a lovely warm day, but a little cloudy and it must have went behind a cloud. This is when I am so glad I recently decided to shoot in only raw at all times now. After a few slider adjustments in Adobe Camera Raw, the image came back to life right before my eyes. It never fails to impress me. Now with a proper image to deal with I move on to making it better. By removing the string of lights from the top left hand corner and heightening the saturation levels, the image is much improved.

Seating, Victorian, promenade, Blackpool, Lancashire, seaside, resort
Ornate seating located by the North Pier Blackpool.

The best way to see all the changes is to compare the two photographs side by side like the example below.

Seating, Victorian, promenade, Blackpool, Lancashire, seaside, resort
Before and after comparison of the ornate seating located by the North Pier Blackpool.

Let’s take a look at one more image from that days images. Here it is as it was shot:

Blackpool Tower, Blackpool, Lancashire, England, seaside, resort, Victorian, visitor attraction,
View of the Blackpool Tower.

The idea I had behind this image was to capture the fun and sense of novelty that Blackpool has, hence the jaunty angle! Looking a little closer I could see a few things I could alter in order to make it a much better image.

Blackpool Tower, Blackpool, Lancashire, England, seaside, resort, Victorian, visitor attraction,
View of the Blackpool Tower.

The main objective here is to emphasise the shapes and lines of the buildings to do this I need to get rid of any distracting elements. Removing the strings of lights, the street lamp is a good start. I then digitally retouch the paintwork to freshen up the appearance of the building in the foreground. To complete the retouching process, I decide to remove the part of the building in the foreground in the top left hand corner of the image. By doing this I believe it shifts all the attention to the tower itself. Now it is complete.

Blackpool Tower, Blackpool, Lancashire, England, seaside, resort, Victorian, visitor attraction,
Before and after comparison of a view of the Blackpool Tower.

Like with the first images, I will compare the before and after photos beside one another to see the full effect of what has been achieved.

By writing posts like this, it shows you the power of retouching and the work behind making the images that I take ready to be shared with you.

If you have any images like these that you would like to be given the same treatment, then please contact me at info@reclickphoto.co.uk I would love to help. For more information about ReClick Photo and the services I provide please visit http://www.reclickphoto.co.uk.

To see all the images I took at Blackpool, and many more, please visit our Flickr page at https://www.flickr.com/people/reclickphoto/

Thanks for reading!

Hugh at ReClick Photo.

Leave a Reply

