Man in a suit

Fashion Faux Pas Part 4 – Clothes

Like all good things, our Fashion Faux Pas Series must come to an end. So here is the fourth and final instalment – part 4: clothes.

Have you ever been caught on camera shamefully wearing a novelty jumper? Or have you been made to wear something that isn’t your colour or it does fit you?

Here at ReClick Photo I am here to help with all the embarrassing photographic evidence of your fashion faux pas. Let’s take a look at a few examples of what I can do.

Man in a suit
Man in a suit

As you can see from the image above, the main subject of the photograph is a suave looking gentleman wearing an interesting coloured suit. Choice in clothing is like art, it is subjective. What one person loves another hates. In this occasion I will reserve my judgement but for demonstration purposes I will alter the colour of the clothing in this image. Here is what I want to achieve in this project:

  • Only to alter the colour of the suit the model is wearing.
  • Leave everything else in the image alone.
  • Create a realistic looking transformation.

Let’s take a look at the finished image and I will explain what I have done.

Man in a suit - retouched.
Man in a suit – retouched.

What do you think? I isolated the suit area and adjusted the colour levels until I was happy. Now the model in the photograph is wearing a suit in more a classic colour. When it comes to clothing, there is more I can achieve when it comes to retouching. let’s take a look at another image:

Image before retouching.
Image before retouching.

Although I do like this image, Personally I think the man is taking rather a back seat and is being over powered by the colour and design of the lady’s dress. This is where I can help. Here is what I want to achieve in the project:

  • Simplify the style of the blue dress.
  • Recolour the blue dress in keeping with the overall muted colours of the rest of the image.
  • Alter the colour of the books in the background in order to achieve an overall balanced image.

Let’s take a look at the finished image:

Image retouched.
Image retouched.

What do you think? We now have a much altered image. Firstly I started to work on the dress. If the lady was the only person in the image, then I would leave it the way it is. Due to its design and colour, the dress is taking all the attention away from the models. So I decided that the best thing to do would be to simplify the dress by removing the triangular cut outs and recolour it to blend in with what the male model is wearing. In order to maintain an overall look I recoloured the books in the background so they don’t draw attention away from the models. No we have a finished image which highlights the models themselves, not just what they are wearing.

If you have images of yourself you would like retouched like the ones features in this post please feel free to send them to me at info@reclickphoto.co.uk. You can also connect with me via social media, for more infomation about that please click here. If you would like find out more about ReClick Photo and the work that I do please visit www.reclickphoto.co.uk.

I hope you have enjoyed my Fashion Faux Pas series, if you would like to read the previous posts click the appropriate link below.

Fashion Faux Pas Part 1: Makeup

Fashion Faux Pas Part 2: Tattoos

Fashion Faux Pas Part 3: Hair

Thanks for Reading!

Hugh at ReClick Photo.

Leave a Reply

